Invincible

As people we seek approval or in the words that are easier to swallow we live, thrive and seek advice. We get it from friends, family, coworkers, and even strangers. Interestingly enough I find that you get better advice sometimes from strangers. Non-bias, they don’t know you, your ways, habits, weaknesses or strengths. No judgement what is so ever. The delivery/message seems to be more clear that way. I find a different kind of joy in it myself, receiving the advice or giving it.

 It’s funny how a person can give some advice according to someone’s need. Why is it that we are above our own words. Are our own words not good enough for us not to listen to. Thus thought made me giggle the other day thinking to myself. I just gave advice to someone else but it wasn’t my first thought. It wasn’t until I really sat and thought about my situation with me throwing myself a pity party that I thought about the advice I had originally gave. And how much it really fit myself. So, the question is why didn’t I think about it. Maybe it was because I was above my own thoughts and words or just maybe I didn’t think the advice was for me. Awkwardly enough I had to go out of myself to snap outta whatever was going on in my little world.

You can lead a horse to water but you can’t make it drink. I take that as we can be open enough to listen or at least pretend to someone’s issues and give advice but not open enough to take it for ourselves. 

Leave a Reply

